I heard a Canary Sing by Bill Robinson RIP


As a tribute to Bill Robinson who has died, we are uploading one of his poems which his son read at his funeral.

Bill was a Teacher of English at King Edward VI School for his whole career. He will have shared his love of the Word with thousands of Retford’s young people. He has left an archive of poems which hopefully can be edited down to a good volume for later publication.

I know I heard a canary sing

Smile

you are together

today

because of me

Be glad you are

and see each other

for you are there

because of me

So proud I am

that you are here

not above but

right beside me

One thought on “I heard a Canary Sing by Bill Robinson RIP

Leave a Reply

