Because I could not stop for Death by Pete Brammer


BECAUSE I COULD NOT STOP FOR DEATH

Because I could not stop for death,

The Grim Reaper got the sack,

For the devil duly sent for him,

As the sky turned, really black.

 

You see, the minute that my heart stopped,

My bladder gave up the ghost,

Being on an electric blanket,

I should have burned like toast.

 

But instead of electrocution,

The shock gave my heart a jolt,

Throwing my body out of bed,

Just like a thunderbolt.

 

It worked like a defibrillator,

I couldn’t get my breath,

So that is why, I had to say,

“I could not stop for death.”

Built on a famous first line

2 thoughts on “Because I could not stop for Death by Pete Brammer

Leave a Reply

