Youth In Revolt by Steven Halinski


Youth In Revolt

basically the follow on from my earlier poem, “Arrested Youth”. The second chapter of it, if you will,

Steven Halinski

My lungs; coal

Like the black ice

Scorching around them.

Smoke, smoke

Filling each breath

That penetrates

The glaciers surrounded.

 

My path is as narrow

As the minds around me,

Smashed are the rules

By the hand that guides me.

I make my own decisions now –

Decisions are the prisons how

I lock myself towards

To grow my freedom’s roses.

 

Done are the days I vegetate and decay,

I grow myself my truth

Not based on what they say

But to be prison-free;

Shut off from the shackles

Of the past indecencies.

 

Claimed be the suffering I lament,

I no longer continue prison sent –

I take my dreams and leave my plea

Based on not yours but my consent.

4 thoughts on “Youth In Revolt by Steven Halinski

  1. Steven- really appreciated the descriptive raw earthy language. It is allegorical in relation to the youths internal fire. In addition, your choice of words create a sensory ambience, particularly in first verse. The last verse I would probably have equated the lines with the others for consistency. Once again love your work!

  2. As with ‘Youth On Trial’ I find some of the wording of ‘Youth In Revolt’ difficult to comprehend at face value. That they are the words of a railing youth is clear. But I am not at all sure what he is railing at. Perhaps that’s it. He doesn’t know exactly what he is railing at. For instance. I am not at all sure what he is trying to say through verse 1. In verse 2 he is clearly deciding to go his own way. In verse 3 he is putting his past behind him and in verse 4 he has decided to listen to his own counsel.
    Despite my inability to fully understand them in this instance, there is no doubt in my mind that the writer of this poem has a very good way with words.

  3. So, so powerful. Not a wasted word or phrase.
    ‘Decisions are the prisons’, Smoke penetrating glaciers, ‘Smashed are the rules By the hand that guides me.’ all great phrases leading to a great last line clincher.

Leave a Reply

