THE FAKE MASK by Pete Brammer


THE FAKE MASK by Pete Brammer

 

I have turned my back on the ones I love,

Carefully closing the garden gate,

Tramping my way with a tear in the eye,

To where, my future awaits.

I turn and wave, then let my arm fall,

As family wave back, from beyond the wall.

 

In uniform proud, I head for the front,

To the battle that has to be won,

But will I join the ones who will die?

Those fathers, uncles and sons,

‘Pray God I be spared’ is all that I ask,

Since leaving my home, I have dropped the fake mask.

 

A mask that said, ‘I am not afraid’

For behind it lay fear, and great dread,

I have witnessed friends and comrades, so many,

Seriously wounded and dead,

So reverently, their remains, were duly sent back,

I don’t want to be a name, on a memorial plaque.

One thought on “THE FAKE MASK by Pete Brammer

  1. I am not sure when this poem is set in time. If it is at the outbreak of WW1, then it brings to mind the fact that the vast majority of people in this country firmly believed that the war would be over in a few months. With that thought in mind, the majority of young men ‘put on a brave face’ and went off to war believing in their hearts that they would be home before Christmas. The greatest tragedy of our time is that five Christmas’ later tens of millions of those young men did not make it back home.

Leave a Reply

