CLICKETY-CLICK by Michael Healy


 66CLICKETY – CLICK

I was 66 just yesterday

Some say what a fine old age,

Others say it all depends on your own life’s page

You are as old as you feel, I am being told

In that case 66 is not too old

 

I got out of bed with a spring in my step

And down the stairs I bounded

My wife, as a treat, wanted to go on a trip

To take me to a new Garden Centre

And so, I thought, at 66, that sounds quite enough adventure.

 

When we arrived (for we had been lost)

I climbed from the car and smiled

I will just take my walking stick, I declared

leaving my scooter in the boot for later

It will be easier that way for my needs to be catered.

 

But as we wandered down long beds of flowers

And lines of new gardening tools

My decision, I knew, to use just my stick, was indeed that of a fool

My legs did shake and my back did ache

And my eyes insisted I stay awake!


I suddenly found a surprising new interest,

In the conservatory garden furniture

Not that I bothered the salesman there,

I just wanted to find a comfortable chair!

To ease the cares my body now felt

 

This left my wife free to wander the lanes

And me the chance to ease my pains

Fairly soon I was joined in my lonely corner

By another man trying a chair

He smiled as he sat with a look of lost cares

 

‘Nice furniture’ I remarked to him

He smiled ‘Oh, I just needed a chair for a rest’

It was then I decided, accept the age and condition that you are in,

With wonky legs and a foggy head

Don’t be 22 when there’s such pleasure in being 66!

                                                                                                                       Michael Healy

2 thoughts on “CLICKETY-CLICK by Michael Healy

  1. Hello Michael,
    Thank you for this latest work from your humorous pen. I look forward to reading your posts. However, if I might be so bold, I do find that this poem lacks a sense of flow. I found myself ‘stubbing my toe’ at a few points. Having said that, I do think that the words clickety-click, sixtysix, and stick, have great poetic potential.

    Thanks again, Michael.

    • As always David, I really appreciate your comments, and in this case I agree with you.
      Think of it like the guy limping along with sore feet and back. Not much flow there! ( and a few stubbed toes).
      Michael

Leave a Reply

