An empty stage (Country) by Pete Brammer


An empty stage (Country) by Pete Brammer

I dreamed about some dear, dear friends,
Whose fame will never wane,
Performing on that mighty stage,
In the Country Hall of Fame.

 

Patsy Cline looked somewhat sad,
Whereas, Big ‘O’ he looked shy,
‘The Blizzard’ by the great Jim Reeves,
Brought a tear to my eye.

 

Johnny Cash, he sang San Quentin,
In a makeshift ball and chain,
On next came Boxcar Willie,
Doing whistles like a train.

 

Gene Autrey with his round-up songs,
Roy Rogers sang the same,
Whilst old Hank Williams, bless his heart,
Said. “Boy I’m glad I came.”

 

Marty held my full attention,
With a love song so sincere,
That’s when I grabbed my camera,
To secure a souvenir.

 

The flash, it woke me from my sleep,
Like lightning in the rain,
I knew I’d been with country friends,
Who I’d love to meet again.

 

Weeks later, came a big surprise,
No bigger one I’ll wage,
For when I picked my photo’s up,
On one … an empty stage!

ghost

One thought on “An empty stage (Country) by Pete Brammer

  1. I have come to expect something approaching a punchline at the end of most of what Pete posts, and this poem has not disappointed. With this poem however, it is a punchline with a strong element of mystery. How did the picture of the empty stage get to be on the camera?

    Nice one Pete,

Leave a Reply

