I REMEMBER by Charles Baker


I REMEMBER

I remember the seaside trips on train

I wish I could capture that feeling again

I played on the sand and paddled in the sea

I rode on the donkeys and laughed with glee

I drank cool fizzy pop and had chips for a snack

On the train home I slept ail the way back

TIME PASSES…                      

I remember those endless long sunny days

All my friends tussled in a general melee

We all played soldiers inside a nearby wood

Some played the bad guys the others played the good

We made wooden rifles all painted in black

All of these memories are now flooding back

TIME PASSES…                     

I remember the bike rides in the clean country air

Mile after mile our destination anywhere

Around every corner was a place we could play

Cycling along till the end of the day

Then the weary ride home if s time for returning

For those short years of childhood I find myself yearning

TIME PASSES…                     

I remember camping at night, near a bridge and a ford

Looking up to a dark starry night our fitting reward

We invented a villain filled with evil intent

Ours was the axeman who crept into your tent

Eating cold beans straight from the can

Soon we would pass from childhood to man

Charles Baker

Leave a Reply

