An article by Barry Upton


Barry’s response to the trigger           Definite    Define    Definition

An article

DEFINITE article – A? Can you be more definite?

Shall I compare THE to a generic A?

 

A gives us lassitude, approximation.

General, unspecific, estimation.

While thee, O THE, are far more self-assured,

Definite, definitive, precise, exact and pure.

 

So would I rather talk of A?

A day, AN hour, A time, A place,

Or should I worship THE

With all your accuracy, specificity?

 

Give me poetry of A and AN

Leave me to imagine what I can.

I wouldn’t use you, THE, in verse;

I’ll save you for my facts and worse!

 

Barry Upton

One thought on “An article by Barry Upton

Leave a Reply

