MY SECRET LIFE by BARRIE PURNELL


MY SECRET LIFE

by  BARRIE PURNELL

In my real life I am conventional I wear a suit and tie

A middle class professional is who I typify

In my real life I am a scientist an engineer by trade

I fix things when they’re broken I know how they are made

In my real life I am god fearing no one knows I’ve sinned

I don’t annoy my neighbours my lawns are neatly trimmed

 

In my real life I avoid an argument I am both mild and meek

I don’t like impetuosity I think before I speak

In my real life my pension is why I worked hard all my life

I achieved a certain status I had a well respected wife

In my real life my friends are all similar to me

But now I’ve got to thinking if that’s how it’s got to be

 

In my secret life I am a rebel not wanting to conform

I want to be a writer who can inspire and can inform

In my secret life I am a romantic seeking out the truth

Making up for all those years I wasted in my youth

In my secret life I’m Leonard Cohen writing a memorable song

I’m Retford’s answer to Bob Dylan righting every wrong

In my secret life my songs are lovers aphrodisiac of choice

The bereaved they use my poetry to give their grief a voice

In my secret life my stories are read out on radio four

When I sign my book in Waterstone’s the queues are out the door

 

But these are flights of fancy which I always had assumed

Would stay inside my secret book inside a darkened room

But in real life I joined a group of creative Retford writers

So the light inside that darkened room is now a little brighter

Could it be they will provide me with the inspiration

To resolve the problem of my secret life’s frustration

I may not find fame or fortune or save the world from strife

But I aim to make reality closer to my secret life

3 thoughts on “MY SECRET LIFE by BARRIE PURNELL

  1. Well, in my humble opinion, this piece of poetic prose is almost word perfect. I particularly like the lines:
    ‘I don’t annoy my neighbours my lawns are neatly trimmed’ and ‘I achieved a certain status I had a well respected wife’
    However, it is clear that the narrator has not been living the kind of life he really wanted. In his evident conformity he has been stiffling a strong desire for some form of creative outlet. Fortunately, he redeems himself by concluding that he [aims] to ‘make reality closer to my secret life’.
    I wonder though, at the risk of being difficult, whether he should aim to make his secret life, closer to reality?

    Thanks, Barry. I really like the way you are able to tell a story with your style of poetry.

Leave a Reply

