THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE by Barrie Purnell


Here is Barrie’s piece triggered by ‘What’s in a Name?’

THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE by Barrie Purnell

 

Aristotle, Plato and Diogenes

Epicurus, Pythagoras and Socrates

Illustrious philosophers of ancient Greece

My lover did not moralize or preach

She did not lecture me, theorize or teach

She said there was nothing to be frightened of

She said she would tell me the truth about love

 

Douglas Bader, Collingwood and Wellington

Churchill, Montgomery and Lord Nelson

Our enemies in battles did outsmart

My lover won the battle for my heart

She said her love would not be a la carte

She was more bird of prey than turtle dove

Only she told me the truth about love

 

Obama, Johnson, Bush and Truman

Kennedy, Eisenhower, Ford and Regan

Defenders of freedom and democracy

My lover told me there was no equality

No place for subservience or modesty

In the love that she was thinking of

Only she told me the truth about love

 

Drake, Hillary, Cook and Shackleton

Columbus, Scott, Raleigh and Livingston

Discoverers of lands from pole to pole

My lover said I’d have to bare my soul

Discovering my true self not play a role

If my love for her I was seeking to prove

Only she told me the truth about love

 

Blake, Shakespeare, Charles Dickens and Shelley

T S Elliot, Chaucer, Milton and Huxley

They enthralled us with the written word

My lover wrote to me of betrayals overheard

And of the inevitable debts these had incurred

All of which she had noted and made records of

Only she told me the truth about love

 

Bowie, Cohen, Johnny Cash and Morrison

Bob Dylan, Mitchell, Lou Reed and Young

They provided the soundtrack to our lives

My lover said love is a delusion for which we strive

An affliction and a torment to survive

And not the sweet love song they were dreaming of

Only she told me the truth about love

 

Stephenson, Darwin, Baird and Turing

Faraday, Whittle, Caxton and Fleming

Their creativeness set these men apart

My lover held me close to her from the start

Then invented new ways to break my heart

And left a longing I could not rid my being of

Only she told me the truth about love

 

In history all these famous names played their part

But they could not help when my lover broke my heart

Or tell me why I walked with her so far

Why only your lover knows who you really are

And why my lover’s wounds left a soul deep scar

Although they were inflicted with a velvet glove

Now I know the real truth about love

 

So if your search for truth has been in vain

Do not look to all those famous names

You will find loves truths are only spoken

By lovers whose hearts have already broken

Destroyed from inside by loves raw emotion

Who’ve kissed lips a thousand lies have made use of

Only then will you know the real truth about love

Leave a Reply

